Utah’s Attorneys for Assault Charges
Facing an assault charge?
What do I do now?
If you’re facing an assault charge, you might not know what your next steps are. On this page, we’ll walk you through Utah’s definition of assault and discuss some of the penalties.
What does it mean?
Utah law (76-5-102) defines assault as “an attempt, with unlawful force or violence, to do bodily injury to another or an act, committed with unlawful force or violence, that causes bodily injury to another or creates a substantial risk of bodily injury to another.” Utah law interprets bodily injury as “physical pain, illness, or any impairment of physical condition.”
What happens Now?
If you’ve been charged with assault, you could receive a penalty of a class B misdemeanor, which carries a penalty of up to 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
However, it becomes a class A misdemeanor for:
- Assaults that cause substantial bodily injury to another
- Assaults against pregnant women
- Assaults against public or private school employees
- Assaults against protected officers or members of the military
- Assaults against a health care provider or emergency medical service worker
- Penalty is up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
Third-degree felony if:
- The person has previously been convicted of a class A misdemeanor or a felony violation or if the person causes substantial bodily injury
- Penalty is up to 15 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines
Second-degree felony if:
- The person uses a dangerous weapon or other means of force that results in death or serious bodily injury.
- Penalty is up to five years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
We’ve Got Your Back
At Steele Adams Hosman, we are here to guide you through the process and put together your best defense. Our extensive experience has helped many clients just like you!