Utah’s Attorneys for Car Crash Injuries
Have you been injured in an accident?
We’re here to help
If you’ve been injured in a car crash, you are likely dealing with a lot. Here, we’ll walk you through Utah law regarding personal injury relating to car crashes. Please note that a statute of limitations applies to these cases, meaning that you have a set time limit to submit a lawsuit. The sooner you begin the case, the sooner you can beat the deadlines imposed by the state of Utah.
Utah: a no-fault insurance state
Utah is a no-fault insurance state, which means that you have to turn to your insurance company first for compensation (31A-22-309). However, you can pursue legal action outside of a claim to your insurance company if one or more of the following apply to your situation:
Permanent disability or permanent impairment
Medical expenses exceed $3,000
Modified Comparative Negligence State
Utah is a modified comparative negligence state. This means that a jury may determine that you bear a percentage of the negligence and thus reduce the compensation you receive. (78-B-5-818)
Let’s say you’re seeking $50,000 for damages and other associated costs. If the jury decides that you bear 10% of the negligence, then the amount you’d receive would be reduced to $45,000.
We’ve Got Your Back
You are not alone! We are here to guide you through what can seem like a complicated process and explore your options for a car crash injury settlement.