Utah’s Attorneys for
Drug Possession

Charged with Drug Possession?

Steele Adams Hosman is here

According to Utah code 58-37-8, it is illegal for a person to knowingly and intentionally possess any controlled substance without a valid prescription from a physician. If you have been charged with possession,
please know that the defense attorneys of Steele Adams Hosman are here for you.

Schedules of
Controlled Substances

Utah divides drugs into schedules, classified by roman numerals I through V. A complete list is found here. Schedule I is considered the most dangerous, most addictive, and without any recognized medical benefit. The scale of severity goes down from there to V. Drugs in the V category are the least likely to cause addiction and are commonly used medically.

  • Schedule I: Examples include heroin and marijuana.
  • Schedule II: Examples include meth (methamphetamine) and codeine.
  • Schedule III: An example is anabolic steroids.
  • Schedule IV: Examples include Xanax and Ambien.
  • Schedule V: Examples include medicines with low amounts of codeine and opium.

What happens
Now?

Depending on the type of substance in possession, the amount, and previous convictions, a possession charge in Utah carries the following penalties:

  • Class B misdemeanor: up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
  • Class A misdemeanor: up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
  • Third-degree felony: up to 5 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
  • Second-degree felony: up to 15 years in jail and up to $10,000 in fines.

We’ve Got Your Back

At Steele Adams Hosman, we are here to guide you through the process and put together your best defense. Our extensive experience has helped many clients just like you!

Please call us at
801-816-3999
or contact us online for your free consultation.

  • (801) 816-3999
  • 765 East 9000 South
    Suite A-1
    Sandy, UT 84094
    United States

SCHEDULE YOUR FREE CONSULTATION

WE’VE GOT YOUR BACK EVERY STEP OF THE WAY

Contact Form