Utah’s Attorneys for
DUIs

We’re here with
Guidance from the
pros

If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you might be feeling scared and confused. What’s most effective is to seek professional advice immediately to outline what your next steps are and to understand all of your options. When you’ve been charged with a DUI, you need a DUI attorney who understands complex DUI law. At Steele Adams Hosman, we are here to guide you through the process.

Utah has some of the strictest DUI laws
and penalties in the country

According to Utah code section 41-6a-502, a person cannot legally
operate or be in control of a vehicle if that person:

has a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .05 grams or higher at the time of the test

is under the influence of alcohol, any drug, or the combined influence of alcohol and any drug to a degree that renders that person incapable of safely operating a vehicle

has a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .05 grams or greater at the time of operation or actual physical control

What are the penalties of a DUI?

According to code section 41-6a-503, the penalties for a DUI are:

Class B misdemeanor, usually for a first or second DUI offense. The maximum penalty is up to six months of jail time and up to $1,000 in fines

Class A misdemeanor, if the person has also inflicted bodily injury upon another as a result of having operated the vehicle in a negligent manner, had a passenger under 16 years of age in the vehicle at the time of the offense, or is 21 years old or older and has a passenger under 18 years old in the vehicle at the time of the offense. The maximum penalty is up to one year of jail time and up to $2500 in fines.

Third-degree felony, if the person inflicts serious bodily injury upon another as a result of operating the vehicle in a negligent manner, if the offender has two or more prior DUI convictions within the previous 10 years, or if the offender was previously convicted of automobile homicide or a felony DUI. The maximum penalty is up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.

We’ve Got Your Back

At Steele Adams Hosman, we are here to guide you through the process and put together your best defense. Our extensive experience has helped many clients just like you!

Please call us at
801-816-3999
or contact us online for your free consultation.

  • (801) 816-3999
  • 765 East 9000 South
    Suite A-1
    Sandy, UT 84094
    United States

SCHEDULE YOUR FREE CONSULTATION

WE’VE GOT YOUR BACK EVERY STEP OF THE WAY

Contact Form