Utah’s Attorneys for Motorcycle Injuries
Have you or someone you know been in a motorcycle accident?
You can turn to us
If you or someone you know has been involved with a motorcycle injury, you’re likely facing costs relating to medical care and even your motorcycle. Here we’ll talk about current law and what you can do.
Utah Motorcycle Law
According to Utah code 31A-22-302, your personal injury protection (PIP) policy will not cover your injuries sustained during a motorcycle crash. Additionally, your motorcycle can only be covered by your car insurance policy if it is listed on that policy.
Statute of Limitations
For injuries resulting from a motorcycle accident, you have four years from the date of the accident to file your suit (78B-2-307).
Under Utah Code 78-B-5-818, if the court decides that you are 50% or more at fault, then you forfeit your right for compensation. You can still receive compensation resulting from a motorcycle accident lawsuit if a jury decides that you are partly responsible as long as it’s less than 50%. If they do find you partly responsible, that percentage will be subtracted from what you’re seeking.
For example, let’s say you’re seeking $50,000 for damages and other associated costs. If the jury decides that you bear 10% of the negligence, then the amount you’d receive would be reduced to $45,000.
We’ve Got Your Back
You are not alone! We are here to guide you through what can seem like a complicated process and explore your options for a motorcycle injury settlement.