Utah’s Attorneys for Retail Theft
We’ve got your back
Our attorneys can help
If you or a family member has been charged with retail theft, also known as shoplifting, you may be feeling overwhelmed. We will be your advocate by working with you to make sure you receive the support you deserve.
According to Utah code 76-6-602, retail theft, also known as shoplifting, occurs when a person allegedly:
Penalties for shoplifting according to
Utah code 76-6-412 are:
Second degree felony
- if the value of the property is or exceeds $5,000
- if the property stolen is a gun or working vehicle
- if the property is stolen from another person
Third degree felony
- if the value of the property is at least $1,500 but less than $5,000
- if the value of the property is at least $500 or more and the offender has already had two convictions within the past 10 years, with one of those convictions being for theft, robbery, or burglary with the intent to commit theft
- if the value of the property is at least $500 but no more than $1500, and the theft occurs where the offender has committed theft within the past five years, and the offender has already been prohibited in writing from entering the location
Class A misdemeanor
- if the value of the stolen property is $500 or more but doesn’t exceed $1500
- if the stolen property value is less than $500, the offender already commited theft in the same location within the past five years, and the offender already received written communication prohibiting them from entering that location.
Class B misdemeanor
- If the stolen property is less than $500
The above classifications carry the following penalties:
We’ve Got Your Back
At Steele Adams Hosman, we are here to guide you through the process and put together your best defense. Our extensive experience has helped many clients just like you!