Utah’s Attorneys for Slip and Falls
Have you suffered a fall?
Our Attorneys have your back
If you have experienced a slip and fall, you may be entitled to financial compensation. On this page, we’ll walk you through some important information to consider.
Statute of Limitations
With slip and fall cases, there is a statute of limitations, which puts a time limit on how long you have to file your suit.
Utah code 78B-2-307 states that you have four years from the date of your slip and fall to file a personal injury suit.
Additionally, let’s say you didn’t get injured but damaged something like your phone or expensive sunglasses. Utah code 78B-2-305 states that you have three years from the date of your slip and fall to file a property damage suit.
In a slip and fall case, you must prove negligence on the part of the property owner. Did the property owner fail to reasonably keep the area safe to prevent an accident? In Utah, there is also something known as comparative negligence. Part of it says, and here we reference Utah code 78B-5-818: “A person seeking recovery may recover from any defendant or group of defendants whose fault, combined with the fault of persons immune from suit and nonparties to whom fault is allocated, exceeds the fault of the person seeking recovery.”
What this means is that if a jury feels that you were partly to blame for the accident, you can still receive compensation provided that your part of the allocated blame is less than all other people’s fault. Let’s say that your medical expenses and other costs total $100,000 and the jury finds you 10% at fault. The court would award you $90,000 instead of the $100,000 since they would subtract the 10% fault from what you were seeking.
We’ve Got Your Back
Slip and falls can happen anywhere, like grocery stores, restaurants, and the workplace. But you are not alone! We are here to guide you through what can seem like a complicated process and explore your options for a slip and fall settlement.